Nothing has touched my soul like that
                               pitter-patter
night.
I was young and naive and
             pitter-patter
full of confidence.
pitter-patter
The stars were bright enough to
                                         pitter-patter
trace every
                    pitter-patter
constellation
And I
        pitter-patter
could feel
pitter-pat
them all.
               pitter-pat                  pitter-pat
My dreams
         pitter-patter         pitter-pat
felt warm and full
                        pitter-patter           pitter-pat
the sun lamp
pitter-pat    pitter-pat
that I kept on my window sill
                    pitter-pat            pitter-pat
encompassed the warmth
   pitter-patter           pitter-pat
that my parents filled me with
pitter-patter                          pitter-pat
throughout my childhood.
   pitter-pat           pitter-pat         pitter-pat
And it was this warmth
pitter-patter    pitter-pat-pat         pitter
that I remember now
     pitter-pat       pitter       pat-pat
as I sit here
pitter-patter                 pitter-patter
and dream about
pitter-pat-pat      pitter
that night
pitter-patter           pitter-pat-pat       pitter
that night that
pitter-patter-pitter       pat-pat
touched my soul
pitter-pat-pat       pitter
and took my soul
     pitter-patter       pitter-patter
all
pitter-patter         pitter-patter
at
   pitter-patter           pitter-pat
once.
pitter-pat

 

Leave a Reply

