This past week I was on vacation in California. My boyfriend and I went to an online video convention called VidCon. I make music and vlogs and upload them on YouTube, so I like to go to VidCon to gain information on how to do YouTube “the right way.” This year, I bought a creators pass, which is something I did differently from last year. The creator panels really touch on important issues that smaller creators tend to have.

But none of this really matters because the most important thing I learned this past week was that you have to hold yourself accountable. If you set a schedule or make a promise, either for/to yourself or for/to your viewers, you have no excuse but to keep that promise. If you can’t and need to change your schedule, that’s okay, but you need to be able to communicate that, stick to your goals and promises, and not allow yourself to falter.

When I started this poetry blog, one of the first things I said was, “I’m kinda known for starting things and stopping right away, so this is me trying to push myself to do more than just start. One of the hardest things for me is continuing something…” So I’m very aware of my faults and where they lie. I hope, as people who’ve chosen to follow my poetry, that you all understand where I was last week and where I’m going from now on.

In July I’m participating in something called NaNoWriMo. What that is, is a month where people get together, be it online or irl, and just write as much as possible. It doesn’t have to be good writing (that’s what the editing process is for) but it’s just something to allow people who want to get into writing or people who need a push to have a community to push with. I plan on writing a poem a day for this site and also a series of short poems to compile into a 50,000 word poetry collection for the month of July.

This process is very hard and very much a challenge but, I promise you here and now, I WILL write a poem a day for this site. My goals for NaNoWriMo WILL NOT change that. I’m sorry for the 9 days that I’ve been away and thank you for sticking with me.

Leave a Reply

