Went from one house to the next
taking shots with every host
passing hours
killing brain cells.
Blowing time out the window
with every puff.
A wasted youth.

Went from normal to advanced classes
taking notes from every teacher
passing hours
killing friendships.
Blowing through ‘extra’ homework
just to understand.
A wasted youth.

Tempo change,
house thump,
heart beats in time.
Surrounded by new friends
might forget them tomorrow
or maybe not.
Feeling like I want to be accepted,
I need to be accepted.
A wasted youth.

Test return,
time stops,
heart skips a beat.
Surrounded by anxiety, my new friend
who I might forget tomorrow
or maybe not.
Feeling like I’ve failed,
knowing that I’ve failed.
A Wasted youth.

Next day
headache.
Where am I?
Is it Saturday? Maybe Friday?
Time to get up I guess.
The time?
14:00
A Wasted youth.

Next day
headache.
Books soaked in… sweat?
Anxiety dreaming…
time to get up I guess.
The time?
7:30
A wasted youth.

10 YEARS LATER

Didn’t go to college
dead-end job
wasted money on booze and smokes
wasted time on dead-end job.
Still young,
but not for long.
Have I wasted my youth?

Went to college
can’t find a job in my field
wasted money on tuition; still in debt
wasted time on dead-end job.
Still young,
but not for long.
Have I wasted my youth?
Leave a Reply

