Welcome home, I said, with a serious look on my face.
                                             He did not answer.
                     He dropped his bags and looked over at me.
                                 I did not know where to start.
                                   How are you doing? He asked.
                             It sounded strained and unnatural.
                                What? Fine... I'm fine. I said,
                                    thrown off by the question.
He headed towards the bedroom; I couldn't think of what to say.
                                There was no love for me there.
     Our dog wouldn't even cuddle with me on the couch anymore,
                                          he's such as old dog.
                                      Maybe I'm an old dog too.
                                  Has it really been that long?
                                    I was once young and vital.
                  I had a husband who would do anything for me.
               I had children who thought I was an inspiration.
                                     But now there's no love...
                                     Where had life brought me?
                                          Sitting on this couch
                         I see nothing but a dark, lonely room.
                         I look back and think I loved so much,
                                 but why didn't that love last?
                                       Why did everyone forget?
                                          Why did they move on?
                                               I was loved once
                             in the eyes of those who mattered.
                                       Now I'm loved by no one.
                                  I looked towards the bedroom
                     an d couldn't find what I was looking for.
                                        I turned off the light.

 

Leave a Reply

